| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
linda.im1982@bigpond.com
Joined: 19 Oct 2009 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:32 am Post subject: PLEASE CARFUL |
|
|
Insearching for a new home it has come to my attention that a number of advertisement on this website are scams. These would be scammers advertise too good to be true rental properties at amazing low prices. In each and every one of these scams, the so called property owners is claiming to be living overseas. Once contacted, they'll inform you that you will recieve the keys and contract of least agreement via courier once you have paid bond for the property which they request you to do via money agent.
The photos sent to me were also a dead give-away, for one the apartment had European fixtures which would obviously not be in a Melbourne apartment. And when double checking the address, the property turned out to be a Hotel in Melbourne.
I urge each and everyone of you to take the ut most care when using websites such as these to find a new property. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Esbeee
Joined: 03 Feb 2009 Posts: 41
|
Posted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi linda.im1982@bigpond.com,
We always welcome and encourage all kinds of feedback from our users, especially the sort that helps us keep the site free from “non-complaint” ads, which is why we have a "Report this ad" section which you will find in every ad.
As you can imagine there are thousands of ads posted on Gumtree daily and we do not review all ads that are posted. We rely on our Gumtree community members to help us keep the site clean. However there can always be improvement and we are continually looking to make further improvements so that we can ensure the site is kept as “clean” as possible.
Thanks
The Gumtree Team |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
ausGeoff
Joined: 24 Jun 2009 Posts: 860 Location: Melbourne AUSTRALIA
|
Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:01 am Post subject: Re: PLEASE CARFUL |
|
|
Thanks for the heads up on these scams.
| linda.im1982@bigpond.com wrote: |
| ...The photos sent to me were also a dead give-away, for one the apartment had European fixtures which would obviously not be in a Melbourne apartment. And when double checking the address, the property turned out to be a Hotel in Melbourne. |
It certainly proves the old adage:
"If it looks too good to be true, then it probably is!"
Cheers.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
magimay
Joined: 01 Nov 2009 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 1:37 pm Post subject: Scammers are around |
|
|
| I have an ad seeking rental in Darwin and was contacted by someone saying they have a townhouse in Darwin and that they are an air hostess and currently in London. They even included a copy of their supposed passport. The conditions of rental were too good to be true. They asked for personal details to write up a lease. Be very, very careful. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
magimay
Joined: 01 Nov 2009 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 2:11 pm Post subject: Scammers are around |
|
|
Beware of person using the following email address
Ruth Fitzgerald <fitzgeraldruth24@yahoo.com |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Vergulde Draeck
Joined: 18 Sep 2009 Posts: 206 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 6:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| |
 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
Copyright © 2005-2008 Kijiji International Limited.